top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureValencia Vixama

Sweet Potato Cornbread with Peach Bourbon Butter



WARNING: This pie will be devoured in 15min tops. Do not bake if you're not on the market for marriage proposals.


The people have spoken and its time I stopped gatekeeping. My highly anticipated, world famous sweet potato cornbread with peach bourbon butter recipe is here. I've been making this pie every year since 2019 and without fail, someone new gets down on one knee. Now.. whether they actually had a ring for me is besides the point. Hey, I never said this was how to catch a husband okay!


This mouthwatering pie is the pièce de résistance for any holiday gathering, but remains goated as the finale to your next Thanksgiving dinner feast. As well, for my lactose intolerant baddies, all of my ingredients accommodate our gentler dietary needs. *cues church dance praise break* Now without further adieu.. the recipe:


Ingredients:

  • 3 cups of Krusteaz Honey Cornbread mix

  • 1 cup of brown sugar

  • 1/2 cup of white sugar (optional)

  • 1/4 tsp of nutmeg

  • 1 tsp of cinnamon

  • 1 tsp of vanilla extract

  • 1/2 cup of butter

  • 2 cups of baked sweet potatoes (mashed)

  • 3 eggs

  • 1 cup of coconut cream (replacement for heavy cream)

  • 1 cup of oat milk (replacement for half and half)


For peach bourbon butter:

  • 2 cups of Crown Royal Peach Whisky

  • 1 stick of butter

  • peach juice (optional)


Instructions:

  1. Mix all of your dry ingredients together in a large bowl. In all honesty, I tend to get trigger happy with my spices.. cinnamon especially because it makes me happy; so I encourage following your heart with the spices. Sprinkle until your ancestors tell you "that's enough baby"! Now mix in all of your wet ingredients together and whisk until you have a thick, creamy and relatively smooth texture.

  2. Oil down pan or cast iron of your choosing and pour batter in.

  3. Pop into oven set to 450 degrees.

  4. Cornbread should bake for 30-45min, or until a beautifully sweet shade of golden brown.

  5. Pour 2 cups of peach whisky in a sauce pan. Bring to boil until water is evaporated -- you can tell when liquid is slightly sticky upon mixing. Be sure to keep watch on sauce pan as alcohol is extremely flammable. We dont want any visits from the fire department -- not on my watch! Now reduce to light heat and mix in butter for about 3-4min.

  6. This part is optional but I like to make sure there's a potent note of peach infused in butter so I'll add some peach juice to the mix and continue to stir.

  7. Once butter is a syrupy texture.. slather, drizzle and drop that concoction on top of your pie and enjoy your decadent dish!








3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page